When I grow up….

“Mommy, what do you want to be when you grow up?”  Teagan asked.  I laughed.  “I don’t know yet.” was my reply.  What do I want to be when I grow up?  Well, we’ll think about that later…..

So I asked Teagan the same question, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  Without a moments hesitation, “Hannah Montana.”  “You can’t be Hannah Montana,” Dawson told her rolling his eyes “Hannah Montana is already a person.”  So then they tried to come up with her stage name:  Hannah Montana Teagan was the best she could come up with.  So the question was asked to Dawson, “What do you want to be when you grow up?”  Again without a moment’s hesitation, “Major League Baseball player.”  Whew!  I was worried there for awhile that Dave and I wouldn’t ever be able to retire, but with a pop star and MLB player I should be set for life.

I tend to overthink things a lot.  I know its not that schocking.  But I started to worry that Dawson really thinks he’s just going to sail through high school and college and sign a $6 million dollar contract with the White Sox.  I’ve researched and researched and the best answer I can come up with is that 1 in 63 youth baseball players will play “professional” ball.  Which seems a bit off kilter if you ask me…… but they don’t define “professional” baseball as being in the major league.  I mean sure 1 in 63 people could probably be playing for the Charleston River Dogs at the “A” level making $750 a month.  But that’s not quite the same as living the life of A-Rod and Derek Jeter.  At $750 a month he’s going to be living at home with me and Dave and cutting grass for the neighbors for extra cash.  Of course he has a back up plan…… I mean when he makes it to the major league he does plan on opening a baseball camp for kids and also he’s going to have his own baseball equipment line.  So don’t wory we’ll be stocked up with “Dawson Baughn” bats and mitts – he really wants to concentrate on equipment for southpaws, since it’s harder than hell to find a right handed mitt anymore. 

I guess 1 in 63 isn’t that bad, I mean if you get to play any minor league ball you do increase your chances of working your way up to the majors.

Then there’s Teagan.  The odds of becoming a pop star…….. well no one can really tell you, but it’s like 1 in 4 or 5 hundred thousand.  Not quite as hard as winning the lottery but pretty darn close.  I mean “10’s of thousands” of people show up to audition for American Idol and only about 150-200 ever make it to Hollywood. And add to it the fact that she can’t sing…… well that’s got to shoot it up to at least 1 in a million.  I shouldn’t say she can’t sing…….. she gives it her all, knows all the words too…but like her mom can’t carry a tune to save her life.  I’m not too worried about Teagan, after all 2 months ago she wanted to be a “hospital worker.”  Not necessarily a doctor, but a “hospital worker.”

I’m not sure why I’m worried at all, when I was 5 I wanted to be one of “Charlies Angels.”  That didn’t work out so well for me, but I’m OK.  And according to Mamaw Baughn when Dave was 5 he wanted to be a fireman………… Ok so that’s not helping me make my point very well.

So I guess I’ll just keep quiet when my kids tell me they want to be a pop star and a MLB player and hope somewhere along life’s journey they become interested in something else like marine biology or medical school.

After all……. I still haven’t figured out what I wanna be when i grow up.

Leave a Reply

