Deep Fried Butter

Today I ate deep-fried butter.

Yep I will just leave that sentence all by itself for everyone to ponder.  It was one of those impulses that I should know at age 38 to ignore.  It was an idea placed in my head by the Sunday morning newspaper – where I read that it is not just a deep-fried stick of butter but rather a mixture of butter,cinnamon, brown sugar and vanilla rolled into a ball and then frozen before being dipped in funnel cake batter and deep-fried.

I was skeptical though.  And once I hit the main drag today at the State Fair and saw the multitude of “fair food” offered I was already abandoning the idea that deep-fried butter was worth trying.  After all there were trailer after trailer offering everything from chicken on a stick to corn dogs and nachos.  But I kept coming back to the deep-fried butter trailer.  And it’s hard to resist wedged in between the chocolate covered bacon stand and the deep-fried (fill in the blank) stand.  So I finally decided to try it.  After all those same ingredients are used to make a lot of things like Snickerdoodles and Cinnamon Rolls.  I mean really what recipe for sweets doesn’t use butter, brown sugar, cinnamon and vanilla?

So I ponied up the $5 and ordered a batch of deep-fried butter.  I almost changed and ordered the deep-fried brownie that was on the menu also but in the end I stuck with the deep-fried butter.  I actually heard one of my arteries scream in horror.  The man handed me a plate with four deep-fried butter balls each one just a smudge smaller than a tennis ball covered in powdered sugar.  I bit into the first one and it was interesting.  The batter on the outside fries up just like a funnel cake would but when you hit the center it’s nothing but melted cinnamon-sugar-vanilla flavored butter.  Don’t get me wrong it’s not bad.  The first one tasted pretty good, the second one was OK but not all the butter had melted so it reminded me that I’m still eating fried butter… by the third one I took one bite and decided one deep-fried butter ball was enough.  For a lifetime.

My husband tried the “doughnut burger” – a hamburger with cheese and bacon slapped between two Krispy Kreme doughnuts.  I had a bite of it.  Not bad really, a little odd actually the salty/sweet taste.  Again one bite of the doughnut burger will last me a lifetime.  Come to find out the “Deep Fried” franchise at the State Fair is owned by one family – a mother and father and their adult children who are constantly trying to out-do each other with crazy food concoctions.  No it’s not Paula Deen’s family either (she was the one who came up with the sausage bacon egg and cheese on a doughnut breakfast sandwich).  They own the chocolate covered bacon stand, the deep-fried butter or brownie stand, the deep-fried (name your favorite candy bar) stand and the popular doughnut burger stand.  They also have one stand that just sells your normal everyday corn dogs, hotdogs and lemon shake ups.

As I was getting on the trolley to go to the other side of the fair (because my stomach was telling me it would throw up if I walked – luckily the butter drowned the artery that was screaming earlier) they were announcing how to get tips on a healthier lifestyle at one of the hospital booths.  Tip #1 – Don’t eat at the fair. It seemed kind of ironic to listen to tips like eat 4-5 servings of vegetables a day and exercise 3 times a week while riding a trolley past nearly 50 stands selling tons of deep-fried foods and sugar-coated desserts.

It has now been several hours since I ate the deep-fried butter and I think my stomach has finally forgiven me.  Dave did come up with some killer ideas for us to start our own concession stand.  He thought we should try deep-frying a hamburger patty and then sprinkling it with sugar and cinnamon.  Or how about chocolate covered tomatoes?  My own idea was a chocolate lemon shake up.  Maybe it would be better as a chocolate orange shake up.  Of course these ideas come from parents who have a child who eats jelly & bacon sandwiches.  Ohhhh maybe that’s it, deep-fried jelly & bacon sandwiches!!  We will make a fortune!

Next year I’m sticking to chicken on a stick.  Although they did have a chicken “sundae” – mashed potatoes covered with corn and gravy and chicken.  Hmmmm  maybe.

PS…… Yes I do feel somewhat guilty that I didn’t buy Teagan any chocolate covered bacon since those are her two most favorite foods in the whole world – Pork and Chocolate.

2 thoughts on “Deep Fried Butter

    • well the funny thing about that… i was going to check for Sara’s basket, but forgot that the 4H exhibits are way on the far west side of the fairgrounds. I walked into the home & arts building and went “uh oh!.”

Leave a Reply

