Raindrops on Roses

The direction of this blog keeps changing every time I sit down to write it.  My first inclination was to do a spoof of Oprah’s Favorite Things and give you Andi’s favorite Things.  However, unlike Oprah I can’t afford to give my audience everything on my list – all 25 of you (including my family, a few friends and the stray German guys who keep leaving spam in my comments).  Also my favorite things list doesn’t really sparkle as much as Oprah’s.  Oprah’s favorite things this year cost over 17 thousand dollars plus the cost of a new VW Beetle (which hasn’t been released yet so price isn’t available) and the cost of a cruise on the worlds largest cruise ship (destination and cabin size to be determined).  So basically Oprah’s favorite things cost more than I make in a year.  Had I been fortunate enough to be in her audience that day however I’m not sure what I would do with an $1100 sweater and matching blanket from Ralph Lauren  – although I would have liked the Ipad with the Scrabble app.

That being said… what is on Andi’s favorite things list?  Well we’ll get to that in a minute.

Every year, about the same time as Oprah’s favorite things, you will always see a news story on the current cost of the 12 Days of Christmas.  You know the song, “On the first day of Christmas my true love gave to me.”  Every year financial analysts sit and figure the cost of the 12 Days of Christmas and the level of inflation from one year to the next.  It actually disturbs me that in 2010 we are using a partridge in a pear tree to measure inflation.  However the 12 days of Christmas will run you just under $100,000 this year.  The 12 Days of Christmas is one of my favorite Christmas songs and always has been I think because it drove my grandma nuts to sing it over and over.  But also because in 1st or 2nd grade part of our Christmas Music Program was singing the 12 Days of Christmas with kids acting out each part of the song.  Originally I was just part of the chorus but something happened to one of the 8 maids a milking and a few minutes before we started there were only 7 maids and I got picked to be the 8th maid.  Not due to my awesome vocal ability but because my mom had dressed me in some frilly dress and the other maids were dressed in frilly dresses.  (Note to my daughter who hates frilly dresses – sometimes they get you picked out of the crowd)

Sadly however the 8 maids a milking aren’t doing so well this year.  Everything but the pear tree, the geese and the cost of 8 maids a milking increased this year.  According to the Indianapolis Business Journal the wage of 8 maids a milking hasn’t increased in the past year and will set you back a whopping $60 for an hour – for the mathematically challenged that means that a dairy worker earns about $7.50 an hour.  And has earned $7.50 an hour for about the last 3 years even though the cost of milk keeps going up.

So this detour into my favorite things led me to ask the question – Why does everyone wonder about the cost of the 12 Days of Christmas and not Julie Andrews Favorite Things.  So in all fairness to the Sound of Music here is what Julie Andrews Favorite things will set you back:  Raindrops on Roses ($29.99 1-800-FLOWERS for 12 roses, rain is free), Whiskers on Kittens ($95 adoption fee Indianapolis Humane Society) Bright Copper Kettles ($89-$95 http://www.lehmans.com), Warm Woolen Mittens ($40 http://www.smartwool.com), Brown Paper Packages ($18.26 2nd day air UPS from Indiana to Illinois) Cream colored ponies ($800-$3000 for a Palomino pony http://www.bestpony.com), Crisp Apple Strudels ($39.95 shipped http://www.guglhupf.com), Door Bells ($43.95 wireless battery door chime http://www.lowes.com), Sleigh Bells ($19.99 http://www.amazon.com), Schnitzel with Noodles ($4.75 kids menu at der Rheinlander restaurant http://www.rheinlander.com), Wild Geese (free on any retention pond in Indiana), White dress with blue satin sash ($61.99 http://www.pinkprincess.com) Snowflakes (free – a lot lately) Silver White Winters that melt into Spring (free, but if you’d like to see it happen faster $87 one way airfare to Ft Myers http://www.airtran.com).

Well the Sound of Music favorite things will definitely cost you less – around $3000 depending on the price of the pony.  By the way cream-colored ponies are hard to find so I had to go with a Palomino.  Also the wild geese are free, but a hunting license runs $17 and you must have a waterfowl stamp for $6.95 – but I’m pretty sure she’s not singing about hunting them.

What about Andi’s Favorite Things………. hmm….maybe tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

