Things that were hard to bear are sweet to remember. ~Seneca

I’ve been trying to remember things from chemo. All I could remember was the schedule. Every Monday we had to go and do a blood draw to make sure she her white blood cell counts were high enough to do chemo on Tuesday. Dr. Goodman would call late Monday and give us her counts and I used to keep track of them, white blood cells, red blood cells, hemoglobin. Tuesday, usually at 10am, we would go to Dr. Goodman’s office and Paula or Shelly would take us and write down all the medications, ask if there was vomiting or diarrhea, ask about headaches, take her height, weight, blood pressure, pulse and then put us in a room. Ms. Molly would come in and read a book while Paula or Shelly would hook up the IV. Some days this was a traumatic event and some days it was fine. Dr. Goodman would come in and look at her eyes, ears, nose and mouth. Then she would check all the neurological stuff (look up, look down, GRRR like a tiger). Then she would give the OK to start the chemo. Chemo drugs come in brown IV bags with giant orange stickers on them that say “CAUTION.” The chemo took about 1 ½ hours to run through the IV and usually she would sit in the play room and watch a movie. When it was done she would have her port flushed out and pick out a band-aid. And then she would beg us to stop at Chick-Fil-A or McDonalds and she and Dave would argue on some days so he could go someplace he wanted to.

It doesn’t make for a great story. It actually seems kinda boring. So, thanks to Mary Tyler Mom, I remembered I had a journal that I kept while we were going through all of this. I just didn’t think of it as a journal. It was Caring Bridge. Luckily some neurotransmitter in my brain still works and I actually remembered the login for it. I found some wonderful “fill in the gap” stuff that I had completely forgotten.
The first thing I forgot was about 8 days before her 2nd surgery she got strep throat and I had to argue with the fill-in doctor at the pediatrician’s office that she couldn’t be on amoxicillin for 10 days because she was scheduled for surgery and she would have to have a 5 day Z-pack. Doctors don’t like it when parents tell them what to do because very condescendingly she told me that the 10 day amoxicillin was the best course of treatment.  I won – I told her she needed to call Dr Young’s office and ask their opinion since she was scheduled for a craniotomy in 8 days.  I’m glad she called them.  I’d hate to have had to pull out the whole “you know he did spend 5 more years in medical school than you did.”

Here’s a copy/paste segment from her Caring Bridge on January 21st, 2008

Later Dawson had “Sunshine’s” (Jon) birthday party to go to so we went to the hospital to see Gwendolyn Williams – Greggy Poo’s new baby girl. It was the first time I heard the words “going to the hospital” and didn’t immediately start crying and throwing a tantrum. I was pretty shy but really liked seeing the baby. Then, because we were in Mooresville, we ate at Gray Bros. Cafeteria with Mike and John from mommy’s work. Boy them and my daddy sure can talk a lot. Luckily I had chicken and macaroni & cheese to keep me entertained. We picked Dawson up from “Sunshine’s” birthday party and I got to see his big brother Morgan. Those blonde curls sure do make a girl weak in the knees!

I’m not sure why but that cracked me up when I read it.  I completely forgot about her having a giant crush on Morgan Hagee.  Which was funnier I think because at last Friday’s football game Teagan was bored beyond tears (this was before the storms rolled in and the tornado sirens went off) and to keep her watching I would wait until Plainfield would kick and poke her in the arm and say “hey Morgan’s kicking.”  She watched him kick and then she was done.  Wonder if those blonde curls still make her weak in the knees?

Now that I remembered the caring bridge site it will be a lot easier to remember stuff!  WHEW!

Next:  Wherever you go, no matter what the weather, always bring your own sunshine. ~ Anthony J. D’Angelo

Leave a Reply

