Zombie Cat Part 2 (“tails of blue balls”)

Saturday morning in Charleston was overcast, but if you’re a really awesome photographer you can get a shot like this:

IMG_0878

We had plans for Saturday, a cupcake testing in Mount Pleasant plus driving around to find things in Mount Pleasant because that’s where my niece will be having her wedding.  Things like hotels, restaurants, bars, malls, bars, taco places, bars and P-nut stands.  OK our actual agenda included hotels, restaurants and driving out to Isle of Palms to look at house and condo rental options.  The above is what we actually found.  We drove over to Mount Pleasant crossing the Arthur Ravenel Jr. Bridge – the really cool cable-stayed bridge you see in lots of pictures of Charleston.  A really awesome photographer did not get a decent picture of the bridge.  B took one for my mom…. And I think Kim has one too, but not me.  From the bridge you can see Patriots Point which is home to the USS Yorktown – which was temporarily re-named the USS Foughtinabattle because nobody could remember what the actual name was.

We arrived at our cupcake tasting and started sampling red velvet, pumpkin, chocolate tuxedo and salted caramel chocolate.  They were incredibly yummy and then our cupcake hostess started quoting prices and options.  My job was to take notes, so I started writing down everything she said.  She decided to show B what cupcakes would look like done in her wedding colors so she got an icing bag and some sprinkles.  My niece has picked a very pretty but unique color of blue for her wedding – almost the color of a blue orchid.  No Worries!!!  Cathy Cupcake Planner had that color of blue sugar sprinkles, she got them down off the shelf and I thought the container said “Blue Balls” but surely I was mistaken – it had to say “Blue Bells”.  Yes the perfectly matched color of my nieces wedding in the cupcake sprinkle world is “Blue Balls.”  So we may be ordering chocolate and vanilla cupcakes, star tip icing with “clear” and “blue balls” sprinkles.  That’s the order I wrote down.  Luckily this occurred before we had our margarita lunch specials – and that Kim and I were separated by a table when Cathy Cupcake Planner kept referring back to the “blue balls” sprinkles.  And that Dawson either a) didn’t understand the joke or b) was too engrossed in soccer videos on his phone to notice.

Next to the cupcake store was a chocolatiers.  We forcibly removed Teagan from inside.  Vowing to get more cupcakes and truffles before we left we went to some of the other stores in the area.  NEVER let my mother inside a kitchen gadget store.  It was like Teagan in the chocolatiers shop – we had to forcibly remove her before she bought everything.  Interesting side note, in the kitchen gadget store they sold Café du Monde coffee (see virtual vacay).  We were looking for “something to munch on” because we wanted seafood for dinner.  We found Rio Grande – your typical strip mall Mexican Food place.  The food was pretty good though AND they had a margarita lunch special!  Across the parking lot was a Pet Smart and they were having an adoption fair.  The last time I had the margarita lunch special next to a pet adoption fair I came home with this:

001

This time we came home puppy less!

We drove out to Isle of Palms which is a very beautiful area of Charleston.  On the way to Isle of Palms we passed the Taco Boutique and Taco Mamacitas – these added to our growing list of Taco named restaurants (ok the only other one is Taco Boy – but we had a theme going).  And we found a P-Nut stand – because adding the E and A to the sign was just too much.  You have to cross a draw bridge to get there.  I always speak of Teagan and Dawson’s phobias – well here is mine:  draw bridges.  Just draw bridges, not the road type bridges or even cable suspended, just draw bridges.  This odd phobia started when I was six and visiting Miami with my dad – the whole idea of the road made of grate opening up over water – creepy.  Teagan was finally happy as she got to finally see and run in the ocean.

DSCN0197

We crossed back to Mount Pleasant for dinner and decided to head back to Shem Creek where the wedding will be.  Sure there were nice places to eat but we picked the dive because dives are usually the best.  And in the parking lot we ran into the creepy guy from Wal-Mart with the cane and cast; no doubt spending all his handout cash for a nice seafood platter.  So at Red’s you can take your dog as long as you are in the outdoor seating area – of course it’s hard to determine what exactly is indoor and what is outdoor because it’s a mish mash of tent covered deck and 3 sided buildings.  I passed several dogs on the way to our table and tried to imagine taking Bam out to eat with me.  His table manners are not the best so I’m not sure he’d be welcome back.  Shem Creek is really beautiful at night – oh and I forgot to mention we saw a dolphin in the creek.  Of course Dawson yelled “SHARK” when he saw the dorsal fin – which alerted several of the others on the dock.  He corrected himself with “OR… Dolphin” shortly after he drew a crowd.

Later that night …. Much later that night, like 3 AM (technically the next day but whatever) I heard Teagan get up and go running out of our room then I head this repeated thump-thump-thump.  Teagan was looking for me – she gets confused when she wakes up suddenly.  The thump-thump-thump was identified as one of the grocery carts wheeling across the deck in front of the condo.  The next morning we were discussing the 3 AM grocery cart incident, wondering why the neighbors were up rolling the grocery carts at 3 AM when I offered my explanation:  Maybe the cat was dragging a dead body got tired and threw it in a grocery cart.  I was tired and a little loopy, but that was where “Zombie Cat” was born.

Other highlights from our trip:  Taco Boy on Folly Beach where Dawson took a hot sauce challenge – 4 types of hot sauce on one chip – he won a Taco Boy t-shirt from B.  The misleading BBQ place – it was a green building with “BBQ” painted on the back side which you could see from one road but the front that faced another road said it was a pizzeria.  The giant Buddha bulldog painted on the side of the Zen Dog Daycare and Vet – next to the place B’s getting married.  Two new ideas for my food truck – Taco Ninja and Taco SWAT (inspired by the several Taco named restaurants we found).  The thump-thump-thump grocery cart returned at 3AM again Sunday leading me to believe the ladies next door were vampires or as my mom described them “two anorexics a baby and a dog” – pretty sure that will be on the CBS line-up in January as a sitcom or on TLC as a reality show. Well to be on TLC it would have to be “two anorexic vampires a baby and a dog” – oh yeah and Zombie Cat.  Pretty sure Zombie Cat was theirs too. And last but not least the Colts beat the Broncos!

IMG_0897 <——-Taco Boy Challenge

Before we left on Monday we did get more cupcakes and truffles and we found actual historic markers and evacuation route signs.  This is just a preview of what is to come in June.  I need to make a new scavenger hunt list.  I’m leaving UFO off the list!!  We found the same damn blimp on the way home at the Ohio/Indiana/Kentucky border.

3 thoughts on “Zombie Cat Part 2 (“tails of blue balls”)

  1. I am so glad you write a blog about our vacations, it is so fun to read, and laugh at the crazy stuff we see and do. I have a little correction, it was Boiled P-Nuts, and I can send a picture if you would like to add it. I sure wish I would have taken a picture of the “Blue Balls”, but I am pretty sure I was trying to hold it together because it didn’t seen to phase Cathy Cupcake Planner, and all I was thinking was there are so many names of Blues and you come up with “Blue Balls”, what is worse is the other color in B’s wedding is Black, so I was really glad we went with Clear instead of Black and Blue Balls……………I am pretty sure I would have lost it then! I was still creeped out by the lady stalking me at Red’s Restaurant, everytime I went somewhere there she was starring at me, and then whispering to the other lady with her and then both of them starring at me, and then she finally approached me, and explained why she was stalking me. I thought surely if there was something hanging off me or off my face my family would tell me about it. We do have an awesome Pit Crew!

    • I totally forgot about the lady a Red’s who “just loved your hairdo!!” She was kinda creepy. I was so focused on not stepping on one of the dogs tails we passed by I kinda got dizzy and blanked out some other stuff. That’s one of the 1st restaurants I’ve been to with the dogs just sitting by the owners like that. My dogs would have been like trying to jump on the table or attack the waitress for food!! I did forget the BOILED P-NUTS! Can you imagine what June will be like????

Leave a Reply

