Romans 2:12 – for Sara & Dustin

At my nieces wedding reception she requested that instead of signing just any book she wanted guests to sign her Bible.  She asked that everyone find their favorite Bible verse, highlight it and sign their name next to it.  In the future when she and her husband attend church or Bible study – they can take that Bible and be reminded of their friends and family and their very special day.  It’s a truly awesome concept – but let’s be honest, how many of us can come up with a Bible verse off the top of our heads?  Especially those of us who don’t exactly attend church regularly.

The first time I went over to the Bible I had a plan, John 3:16.  OK yes it’s cheesy, because everyone knows John 3:16 (the actual Bible verse, not the Keith Urban song).

For God so loved the world that he gave his one and only Son, that whoever believes in him shall not perish but have eternal life.

Of course…. Someone else had already highlighted that.  Ok, don’t panic.  1 Corinthians 13 – I have an old Home Interiors framed print of that verse, somewhere.  I do like it, it describes what love should be.

Love is patient, love is kind. It does not envy, it does not boast, it is not proud. It does not dishonor others, it is not self-seeking, it is not easily angered, it keeps no record of wrongs. Love does not delight in evil but rejoices with the truth. It always protects, always trusts, always hopes, always perseveres. Love never fails.

Yep that’s the one.  Except as I head back to the Bible to sign it the Bride’s sister joins me and I told her I finally knew which Bible verse and I proudly announced 1 Corinthians.  She stopped me, no that won’t work, because the bride always complains how that verse is over used in weddings.  OH COME ON!!  I get it, I don’t read the Bible enough… or usually ever unless there’s some news story where someone is twisting a Bible verse to mean something they want it to mean to prove their point on an issue and then I look up the verse.  And my guess is… had I flipped to 1 Corinthians 13 I would have found it highlighted by someone in the crowd.

My 3rd trip to the Bible was with my sister and fellow aunt of the Bride.  Now this is a sister who knows the Bible, cool maybe she can help me.  Nope.  She was having enough trouble remembering the verse she wanted to use.  She knew the words, but couldn’t remember the book or exact verse.  Luckily this Bible had an index in the back so she found it soon enough and highlighted her passage and went on about reception.  OH!! An index –how fortunate.  Psalms, I like a lot of the Psalms.  So I flipped though the Psalms and the index and finally just realized that this would take entirely more time and research than I had at the reception.

So when I got home I started looking up Bible verses.  Pinterest is not the best place to start but that’s where I started.  There are a LOT of Bible verses on Pinterest, with fancy art work and beautiful pictures.  Luckily I’m a writer and the journalistic instinct won’t just let me accept what I read. I have found that most people take a Bible verse, kind of quote it and turn it into art.  Because I looked up Bible quote after Bible quote that had been turned into beautiful art work, but wasn’t exactly how the verse actually was written.  Not just the old King James version but even the New International Version where the “thou’s” and “shall’s” have been replaced with modern pronouns.  So at first I was no better off than I was at the wedding.  Then I remembered one verse I loved as a kid.  It’s about Christmas and yes I wouldn’t know about it if it wasn’t for Linus VanPelt.

Luke 2_18

I may not know the Bible but I know “It’s Christmas Charlie Brown.”

So I worked a little harder and I found this one, which I like.  Micah 6:8

Micah 6_8

And this one, which I have quoted in the past without realizing it’s a Bible verse. Matthew 6:34

Matthew 6_34

And now my “gift” to my niece.  After much research and an extensive search of Bible quotes…..this is now my favorite Bible quote.  Romans 12:2

romans 12_2

Do not be conformed to the pattern of this world but be transformed by the renewing of your mind.

I will highlight you’re Bible the next time I’m at your house and sign my name.  Bible study homework complete!

Leave a Reply

